All motor vehicles in the State of Florida must be registered and titled. Florida uses a metal license plate with an alpha numeric numbering system. The renewal sticker denotes the birth month and year and is displayed on the upper right hand corner of the license plate. Plates are valid for a ten year period. On the 10th year of renewal, a new plate and decal are issued to drivers.
Motor Vehicle Sales
Florida Law requires individuals selling a motor vehicle in the State of Florida to submit a Notice of Sale to the Tax Collector’s Office within 30 days of a sale.
Submit by Fax
Submit by Mail
Orange County Tax Collector, P.O. Box 545100, Orlando, FL 32854
Specialty License Plates
Drivers may purchase one of more than 120 specialty plates at any of our locations. Prices vary per plate and range from $15 to $25 annually. To view all of the specialty license plates, visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
License plates with a center logo design such as the basic Florida license plate or the Save the Manatee license plate, may have up to 7 characters plus either a space or a hyphen. License plates with a left-side logo design such as collegiate and sports license plates, may have up to 5 characters with no additional space or hyphen. Cost is an additional $15 annual fee for each personalized license plate.
Visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to check availablity of a personalized plate.
Change of Address
Florida law requires motorists to report a change of address in person within 30 days. To report a change of address, visit any one of our seven Orange County locations.