fbpx

Renew & Replace

How to Renew A Driver’s License or ID

Driver’s licenses and state IDs are valid for up to eight years. Current driver’s license and state ID holders must renew their credential before it expires, or face penalties and fines. Licenses and IDs may be renewed up to 18 months prior to the expiration date.

Renew Online Today

Renew Online

Residents who are currently REAL-ID compliant, indicated by a star in the top right-hand corner of their driver’s license or ID, are eligible for a one-time online convenience renewal through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ gorenew.com website.

To renew online, customers will need to provide their:

  • Last Name;
  • Date of Birth;
  • Street Address, City, State, and Zip Code; and
  • Additional Information
    • Florida residents with a Social Security Number: Complete Social Security Number or the last 5 digits of your Social Security Number and Florida Driver’s License or State ID Number, Title Number, License Plate Number, Documented Vessel Number or Vessel FL Number.
    • Everyone else: Title Number, License Plate Number, Documented Vessel Number or Vessel FL Number.

Renew in Person

Customers may visit any of our six Orange County locations to renew their driver’s license or ID in person. To visit us in person, please schedule an appointment with SmartPass.

Customers must visit an office if they:

  • Have previously renewed online.
  • Are not REAL-ID Compliant.
  • Want to update their photo.
  • Are changing their name using an original or certified court order or marriage certificate.
  • Have a court order to update their license or ID.
  • Want to add or remove a designation, such as a veteran designation.
  • Are getting a Florida driver’s license or ID for the first time.
  • Are getting a commercial driver’s license.
  • Have a license with the word “temporary” printed on it.

What to Bring

Specific document requirements may vary depending on the individual.

How to Replace A Driver’s License or ID

Residents may replace or update their driver’s license or ID prior to its expiration date if the credential was lost, stolen or if the customer needs to make an update.

Common reasons for a replacement include:

  • A customer’s driver’s license or ID was lost or stolen.
  • The customer wants to add or update a designation, such as a veteran designation.
  • The customer wants to update their photo.
  • The customer needs to update their name or address on their credential.
  • The customer has turned 21.
  • The customer wishes to become an eye, organ and tissue donor.

Address and name changes must be updated on both your driver’s license or ID Card and title and vehicle registration within 30 days after changing your address or name.

If you have legally changed your name by marriage, divorce or court order, you must submit an original or certified U.S. marriage certificate(s), U.S. divorce document(s) or other court order(s). Copies are not accepted unless certified by the issuing authority.

Replace Online Today

Replace Online

Residents who are currently REAL-ID compliant, indicated by a star in the top right-hand corner of their driver’s license or ID, may replace or update their driver’s license online through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ gorenew.com website.

Customers may replace online if they:

  • Need to update their address.
  • Need to replace a lost or stolen driver’s license or ID.

Address changes must be updated on both your driver’s license or ID Card and title and vehicle registration within 30 days after changing your address.

Replace a Stolen Driver’s License or ID Online

All online replacements are subject to fees, even if your credential was stolen. You may be eligible for a reduced fee replacement by visiting us in person with a copy of your police report (see below).

Replace in Person

Customers may visit any of our six Orange County locations to replace or update their driver’s license or ID. To visit us in person, please schedule an appointment.

Replace a Stolen Driver's License or ID In Person for a Fee of $6.25

Residents who are currently REAL-ID compliant may replace their driver's license or ID in person for a fee of $6.25 if:

  • They present a police report from a law enforcement agency (copies and downloaded copies are accepted); or
  • They present a case number written on a law enforcement officer's business card or other official law enforcement document; and
  • They do not make any changes to their license or ID, such as a change of address.

If the license or ID has expired, requires changes, or if no police report was filed, regular driver's license fees will apply.

Customers must visit an office if they:

  • Have previously renewed online.
  • Are not REAL-ID Compliant.
  • Want to update their photo.
  • Are changing their name using an original or certified court order or marriage certificate.
  • Have a court order to update their license or ID.
  • Want to add or remove a designation, such as a veteran designation.
  • Are getting a Florida driver’s license or ID for the first time.
  • Are getting a commercial driver’s license.
  • Have a license with the word “temporary” printed on it.

What to Bring

Specific document requirements may vary depending on the individual.