Driver’s Licenses & State IDs
What to Bring
The Federal REAL-ID Act requires original or certified copies of certain documents to renew or obtain a driver’s license or state ID. Specific document requirements may vary depending on the individual.
If You Already Have a Florida Driver’s License or ID
Renew or Replace Your Driver’s License or ID
Customers may visit any of our six Orange County locations to renew or replace their driver’s license or ID, and some customers may renew or replace them online.
Change Your Address or Name on Your Driver’s License or ID
If you change your address or name, you must update both your driver’s license or ID and vehicle title and registration within 30 days after changing your address or name.
Suspensions, Holds & Violations
Various suspensions and violations, such as parking and toll violations, may place a hold on your driver’s license and registration.
If You Are A New Florida Resident
New Florida residents must obtain a valid Florida driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residency in order to legally drive in Florida.
First Time Drivers
To obtain a Learner’s License, customers must be at least 15-years-old and have an accompanying driver at least 21-years-old occupying the front passenger seat while the licensee is operating the vehicle. To obtain an Intermediate Driver’s License, customers must be at least 16-years-old and have held their Learner’s License for at least one year or until their 18th birthday with no traffic convictions and pass the Road Test.
Commercial Driver’s Licenses
The Hazmat Knowledge Test, TSA Background Check and Livescan fingerprinting are required to obtain a first-time Hazmat Endorsement and for each subsequent renewal.
Driver’s License & Fees*
|Original/Renewal of Class E Driver’s Licenses
|Replacement/Update of Driver’s License||$31.25|
|Original/Renewal/Replacement State ID||$31.25|
|Additional Endorsements on License
(motorcycle, hazmat, etc.)
|Driver’s License late fee
(applied the day after expiration)
|Three Year Driving Record||$15.00|
|Seven Year/Complete Driving Record||$16.25|
*All fees are set by the State of Florida
The Official Florida Driver’s Handbook is produced by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The guide has the information drivers need to prepare for the Florida Driver License Class E knowledge and skills exams and to help drive safely and lawfully.
Emergency Contact Information
Emergency Contact Information (ECI) is a secure Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles system that only law enforcement nation-wide can access in order to contact your designated family or friends in response to an emergency situation.