Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL)
Florida’s CDL Self-Certification System
This system allows Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders to meet the new federal requirements for self-certification without needing to visit our office. A Florida CDL holder may use this system only if they have a valid Florida Commercial Driver License.
The following regulations apply to all Commercial Driver License applicants:
Effective June 1, 2022: Proof of Residential Address for CLP and CDL Holders
All CLP or CDL applicants must present two proofs of Florida residential address in their name. Applicants can present two proofs from List A or one proof from List A and one proof from List B.
List A for CLP / CDL (Item presented must be in the applicant’s name)
- A recent lease or rental agreement for the residence with a term of 6 months or greater
- Current Florida voter registration card
- Florida vehicle or vessel registration or title
- Current homeowner’s insurance policy or bill
- Current electricity or water bill
- Recent cellular or landline telephone bill
- Recent internet service provider bill
- Latest property tax bill
List B for CLP / CDL (Item presented must be in the applicant’s name)
- Latest W-2 form or 1099 form
- Recent bank statement
- Recent credit card statement
- Latest military orders
- Recent pay stub
- Recent official government documents
CLP or CDL applicants unable to provide a proof of residential address from list A, must provide a Declaration of Domicile filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court pursuant to Florida Statutes section 222.17 and one proof of residential address document from list B.
CLP & CDL applicants cannot use a Certification of Address (HSMV-71120) for licensure.
Hazmat Endorsed CDLs from Other States
Customers who have obtained a Hazmat endorsed CDL from a state other than Florida are required to pass the Florida Hazmat Knowledge Test and TSA Background Check.
|Replacement of Valid CDL to add Hazmat||$31.25|
|Each Endorsement||$7.00 each|
|Background Check and Fingerprinting||$91.00|
* All fees are set by the State of Florida
For additional information on Commercial Driver Licenses, visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.