Obtaining Your Learner's License
Before You Visit Our Office
- Must be at least 15-years-old;
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course;
- Study the Florida Driver’s Handbook;
- Gather the required documents; and
- Schedule an Appointment or Get in line to obtain your Learner’s License >
When You Visit Our Office
- Present the required documents (see below);
- Pass the Road Signs and Road Rules Test;
- Pass the Vision Test; and
- If under 18, must have the signature of one parent (or guardian), in-person or notarized, on the parent consent form and be in compliance with school attendance requirements.
Learner's License Document Requirements
Customers must provide three different categories of documents to obtain a Learner’s License at our office.
- Birth Certificate or Proof of Legal Presence. U.S. Citizens: Provide an original or certified copy of your Birth Certificate or a valid U.S. Passport. (Hospital certificates are not accepted. Florida-born customers may obtain their Birth Certificate at our Clarcona office.)
Non-Citizens: Provide original proof of legal presence, such as a Green Card.
- Proof of Social Security Number. Original Social Security Card, W-2 Form, 1099 Form or pay stub with your full name and social security number. (Copies are not accepted)
- Two Proofs of Residential Address or Certificate of Address Form. Common forms are a lease agreement, phone or electric bill, vehicle registration or title, bank statement or insurance policy. (Copies are accepted.)
A Certification of Address Form completed and signed by the customer is accepted as proof of residential address, providing it is accompanied by one proof of residential address in the customer’s name or one proof of residential address in the name of the person with whom the customer resides.
Specific document requirements may vary depending on the individual. For more information, visit GatherGoGet >
Learner's License Restrictions
Drivers who hold a Learner’s License are subject to the following restrictions:
- Must have an accompanying licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or older occupying the front passenger seat of the vehicle at all times;
- May only operate a vehicle during daylight hours;
- After three months the licensee may operate a vehicle until 10:00 PM; and
- Not permitted to operate motorcycles, mopeds or go-peds.
Florida Driver's Handbook
Four Requirements to Take the Road Test
- Valid Registration. Provide a vehicle with valid registration for the Road Test;
- Current Insurance. Provide proof of current Florida Personal Injury Property (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance;
- Driving Log. If Under 18, a parent or guardian must sign a Supervised Driving Log verifying you have at least 50 hours of driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night; and
- Document Requirements. Provide required documents for REAL ID compliance (see above).