Obtaining Your Learner's License

To obtain a Learner’s License, customers must be at least 15-years-old and have an accompanying driver at least 21-years-old occupying the front passenger seat while the licensee is operating the vehicle. Learner’s Licenses must be held for a period of one year or until the licensee’s 18th birthday, whichever comes first.

Appointments are required for Written Tests, which are only available at the following offices:

  • West Colonial
  • Clarcona
  • Winter Garden
  • South Orange (Sand Lake)
  • Lee Vista
  • East Orange (Dean & University)

Schedule an Appointment with SmartPass

Before You Visit Our Office

When You Visit Our Office

  • Present the required documents (see What to Bring);
  • Pass the Road Signs and Road Rules Test and the Vision Test; and
  • If under 18, must have the signature of one parent (or guardian), in-person or notarized, on the parent consent form and be in compliance with school attendance requirements.

After You’ve Obtained Your Learner’s License (Driving Restrictions)

  • Have an accompanying licensed driver who is at least 21-years-old occupying the front passenger seat of the vehicle at all times;
  • Only operate a vehicle during daylight hours for the first three months. After three months the licensee may operate a vehicle until 10:00 pm;
  • Do not operate motorcycles, mopeds or go-peds; and
  • Log your driving hours. You’ll need 50 hours behind the wheel in your first year, of which 10 hours must be at night.

Obtaining Your Intermediate License

To obtain an Intermediate Driver’s License, customers must be at least 16-years-old and have held their Learner’s License for at least one year or until their 18th birthday with no traffic convictions and pass the Road Test.

Appointments are required for Road Tests, which are only available at the following offices:

  • Clarcona
  • Winter Garden
  • South Orange (Sand Lake)
  • East Orange (Dean & University)

Schedule an Appointment with SmartPass

Before You Visit Our Office

When You Visit Our Office

  • Present the required documents (see What to Bring);
  • Bring a vehicle with valid registration for the Road Test;
  • Provide proof of current Florida Personal Injury Property (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance; and
  • If under 18, bring the completed Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor.

What to Bring

The Federal REAL-ID Act requires original or certified copies of certain documents to renew or obtain a Driver’s License or State ID at our office, which include:

  1. Primary Identification (birth certificate or proof of legal presence);
  2. Proof of Social Security Number; and
  3. Two Proofs of Residential Address.

For more information, see What to Bring.

Driver's Handbook

The Official Florida Driver’s Handbook is produced by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The guide has the information drivers need to prepare for the Florida Driver License Class E knowledge and skills exams and to help drive safely and lawfully.

Florida Driver’s Handbook | Español | Creole

Practice Knowledge Exams | Español | Creole

English Driver Handbook for 2015