Residents who are currently REAL-ID compliant, indicated by a star in the upper right-hand corner of their ID, may renew or obtain a duplicate copy of their driver’s license or state ID, including a change of address, online through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ gorenew.com website.
To renew online, customers will need to provide their:
- Last Name;
- Date of Birth;
- Street Address, City, State and Zip Code; and
- Additional Information
- Florida residents with a Social Security Number: Complete Social Security Number or the last 5 digits of your Social Security Number and Florida Driver’s License or State ID Number, Title Number, License Plate Number, Documented Vessel Number or Vessel FL Number.
- Everyone else: Title Number, License Plate Number, Documented Vessel Number or Vessel FL Number.
Has Your Name Changed?
If you have legally changed your name by marriage or court order, you must submit an original or certified marriage certificate(s) or court order(s). Photocopies are not accepted unless certified by the issuing authority. You must show documentation that links your birth name to your current name.
The Federal REAL-ID Act requires original or certified copies of certain documents to renew or obtain a driver’s license or state ID at our office, which include:
- Primary Identification (birth certificate or proof of legal presence);
- Proof of Social Security Number; and
- Two Proofs of Residential Address.
Customers who are currently REAL-ID compliant do not need to provide REAL-ID documents again unless the customer needs to change their name or address (U.S. Citizens only).
|Original/Renewal of Class E Driver’s Licenses; Learner’s License||$54.25|
|Replacement/Update of Driver’s License||$31.25|
|Original/Renewal/Replacement State ID||$31.25|
|Additional Endorsements on License (motorcycle, hazmat, etc)||$7.00 each|
|Driver’s License late fee (applied the day after expiration)||$15.00|
|Three Year Driving Record||$14.25|
|Seven Year/Complete Driving Record||$16.25|
*All fees are set by the State of Florida
The Official Florida Driver’s Handbook is produced by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The guide has the information drivers need to prepare for the Florida Driver License Class E knowledge and skills exams and to help drive safely and lawfully.
Emergency Contact Information
Emergency Contact Information (ECI) is a secure Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles system that only law enforcement nation-wide can access in order to contact your designated family or friends in response to an emergency situation.
Notice to Puerto Rican Customers
Puerto Rican customers must present a birth certificate that was issued after July 1, 2010. Puerto Ricans may renew their license up to 18 months prior to their birth month. For more information, contact the Puerto Rican Federal Affairs Administration at (202) 778.0710 or call our Motorist Services Center at (407) 434-0312.