and Driver License Renewal
of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Frequently Asked Questions
License Plates Index
Disabled Parking Permit
Driver License Locations
511 Travel Info
Puerto Rico has a
new birth certificate law beginning July 1, 2010.
You may renew 90 Days PRIOR to your birth-month.
Call 407-836-4145 for more information.
Starting January 1, 2010, NEW Driver License and ID Card Requirements are in effect.
Visit the Gather
Go Get website for more information.
Emergency Contact Information Service can be used to register your emergency contact information with law enforcement in the event of an emergency.
Motor Vehicle Registrations and Title Applications
All motor vehicles, vessels, mobile homes and trailers over 2,000 lbs. in the State
of Florida must be registered, and titled. It is the responsibility of the Tax Collector,
in his capacity as agent of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles,
to provide the necessary services and operation to accomplish this.
Tag Registration And Renewal:
Vehicles are registered on a staggered basis according to the registered owner’s
birth month. The registration expires at midnight on the owner’s birthday. Exceptions
are Mobile home registrations, truck-tractors, semi-trailers, trucks over 5000 lbs.,
and vehicles for hire that carry nine (9) passenger and vehicles for hire, must
be renewed in December. The Tax Collector must have proof of Florida insurance on
all motorized vehicles, except trailers and motorcycles. A delinquent fee is imposed
on persons failing to timely register these vehicles. Renewals can be processed
three months in advance.
Florida uses a metal plate with a series of alpha numeric numbering systems, or
combination thereof, depending on the type of vehicle. The renewal sticker denoting
the birth month and year and the numbered year decal is displayed in the upper right
hand corner. The county name is embossed across the bottom of the plate. Plates
are kept for a ten year period. On the 10th year of renewal, a new plate and decal
Proof Of Insurance:
Proof of Florida insurance is required to purchase a license plate in Florida. Personal
injury protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 and at least $10,000 in
protection damage liability (PDL) insurance. Commercial trucks require additional
insurance. Contact the Tax Collector’s Office for information.
Change Of Address:
In order to maintain accurate records, and to help ensure that each registered owner
receives a tag renewal notice, all changes of address must be reported to the Tax
Collector’s Office within 20 days. The owner should provide the tag numbers with
the change of address report. NOTE: It is the responsibility of each registered
owner to see that the registration is kept current. Notices are mailed as a service
only, and to facilitate renewal.
A $225.00 Initial Registration fee is imposed upon the first time a license plate
is purchased for a vehicle. This applies to private automobiles, motor homes, trucks
less than 5,000 pounds, with an Out of State or Florida title.
Verification Of Vehicle Identification Numbers:
All motor vehicles not previously titled in Florida must have the vehicle identification
number (VIN) verified by a Florida motor vehicle dealer, law enforcement officer,
or a Florida notary public or this service may also be done at the Tax Collector’s
office. Contact the Tax Collector’s Office for more information.
For Registration In Orange County Rates:
Annual license taxes, for the operation of motor vehicle as defined in F.S. 320.01
shall be paid upon registration or re-registration. The following are 12-month rates
with FIRST TIME Initial Registration fee of $225.00 plus a metal plate fee of $28.00.
Automobile (Private Use):
- Weight under 2500 lbs. $46.65
- Weight 2500 through 3499 lbs. $57.65
- Weight 3500 lbs. And up $71.15
- Weight under 2000 lbs $46.65
- Weight 2001 through 3000 lbs. $57.65
- Weight 3001 through 5000 lbs. $71.15
The decal and registration receipt can be mailed to the owner for a $.70 mail fee.
Metal tags can be mailed for $2.65 mail fee. These amounts must be added to the
Florida Personalized Tags:
Personalized Tags are ordered from the Tax Collector’s Office. Cost of the tag is
$15.00 per year in addition to the annual tax and fees. Personalized tags may be
ordered for private or company owned cars, trucks motor homes, motorcycles and leased
Parking Placard For Disabled Persons
A Florida Disabled Person Parking Placard is issued to any individual with specific
disabilities that limit or impair the ability to walk or is certified as legally
blind. The placard is valid for 4 years and expires on applicants birth date. If
your disability is temporary you may also receive a placard for up to 6 months.
A form must be completed by your physician or other qualifying agency. Contact the
Tax Collector’s Office for forms and more information.
The fee is $15.00 for temporary and No Fee for permanent disabled person parking
An additional card may be issued ONLY to organizations or person who certify they
are frequent travelers or quadriplegic.
Reduced fees are available to veterans and SSI recipients
Contact your Tax Collector’s Office at (407) 836-4145 for detailed information on
all available tags: (i.e. Sports Teams, Colleges and Universities, Special Projects,
Endangered Species) or visit
Specialty License Plates Index.
Mobile homes used for housing accommodations (other than recreational vehicles)
are renewed in December each year. They are issued numbered decals which are sold
according to the length of the mobile home. Non-resident service personnel stationed
in Florida under military orders, who are living in a mobile home located in Florida,
may secure a decal for $14.85, including service charge, upon presentation of orders
and a notarized statement.
Mobile Home-Real Property (RP) Decals:
All mobile homes or recreational vehicles permanently affixed to the owner’s land
declared as real property are issued special RP (Real Property) decals. Owners must
secure Form DR-402 from the Property Appraiser’s Office after showing proof of ownership
and present it with $8.35 to the Tax Collector’s Office. Decals are permanent and
transferable to a new owner when the mobile home and land are sold as a unit. NOTE:
The owner’s name must be IDENTICAL on the land and on the Mobile Home Title.
For more up to date information Call (407) 836-4145
Effective 07/01/2009, a new law protects vehicle sellers. Florida law now requires
individuals selling a motor vehicle in the Sunshine State to submit a Notice of
Sale (Form HSMV 82050) within 30 days of a sale. For more information, check out
the press release
from the Florida Department
of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You may use a Notice of Sale available
and the department provides both a
buyer's and seller's guide.
All applications for title transfer must be signed with applicant’s full name and
notarized, if required. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days
of the date vehicle is assigned by the owner or a $20.00 penalty is levied at the
time of transfer. The title fee is $75.75 (or $85.75 out of state). For each lien
recorded, there is a $2.00 fee. The department will charge an additional $2.50
service fee for each paper title it prints and mails. The purchaser's name,
selling price and odometer reading, in the appropriate space provided, must be completed.
All new vehicles must have a C.O. (Certificate of Origin) or MSO (Manufacture Statement
of Origin) which must be signed and notarized by a licensed dealer) for transfer
to buyer. The C.O. or MSO is attached to DHSMV Form 82040 or 82041, an application
for Florida Title, which must be properly completed with owner’s complete name and
Florida address, date of birth, sex, drivers license number, complete description
of vehicle and any lien to be recorded. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) must
be verified on new vehicle coming from out of state which have not been assigned
to a Florida dealer.
Vehicles From A Foreign State:
An out of state title or registration ( if not a title state) must be submitted
as proof of ownership and if transfer of ownership is involved, it must be properly
assigned indicating new owner’s name and address. Verification of vehicle I.D. number
is required, Application for Florida Title, must be properly completed. Owner's
or purchaser's must sign this Form or give power of attorney. Also, title fees,
lien fee, and initial registration fees must be paid, if applicable.
Purchaser must furnish a properly assigned Florida Title to the Tax Collector’s
Office for transfer. Also the purchaser must furnish proper identification, sex,
date of birth, and proof of Florida insurance to purchase tag.
Fast Title Service:
The State provides an additional service for "Fast Titles" on title transfers
and duplicate titles, being issued within 5 working days. There is a $10.00
fee in addition to regular fees. This service is available in Orange County for
certain situations. For further information contact the Tax Collector’s office.
A duplicate title may be obtained by completing a DMV Form 82101. It must be signed
then submitted to the Tax Collector, who forwards it to the state, with a $75.75
fee. The application must be signed by the lien holder if an outstanding lien exists. The department will charge an additional $2.50 service
fee for each paper title it prints and mails.
Miscellaneous Title Applications And Transfers:
Contact the Tax Collector’s Office for information on miscellaneous title applications
and transfers such as Death of Owner, Court Orders, Change of Name, Repossessions,
Rebuilt Vehicles, and Bankruptcy.
Sales tax as required by Chapter 212, Florida Statutes is 6.50% of the purchase
price, less trade in, if any. Gifts, trade down or even trade, order of court in
divorce proceedings, inheritance, transfer from husband to husband and wife, change
of name only, etc. , may be exempt from sales tax.
Is your E-PASS account information up-to-date?
It is critical that customers keep their account information updated. If you have
changed your license plate, address, credit card, phone number, or email address,
you must update your account immediately. Your transponder is registered to your
vehicle's license plate. If your account information is not accurate, we may not
be able to recognize you as a transponder customer, which could ultimately result
in you being classified as a violator.
Go to EpassToday
or SunPass to update
your account information today.
Florida is complying with the FEDERAL REAL ID ACT. To find out
how this law affects you, please visit